Halloween Forum banner

2023 Pumpkin Growers' Thread

33K views 905 replies 28 participants last post by  MCR 
#1 ·
I was asked to start up this year's thread...so here it is!
I can't wait to see what everyone grows, this year!
I usually grow my minis and assorted gourds. I saved some seeds from some of my gourds from last year and I'm hoping I will get some interesting hybrids from them if they were cross pollinated! We will see!!
I think I will be trying some Sugar Pie pumpkins, this year, too...hopefully, I have room for them.
I'm hoping for the best of luck for everyone this growing season!!! 🎃

Discussion starter · #2 ·
I always like to share this particular site, each year, as it has soooo much detailed information about pumpkin growing.
At the very least, check out the "pollination" and "fertilizer/nutrient" sections of their page:

Growing Pumpkins Big And Small. How To Grow Pumpkin Plants.

As always, I'm no pro, but always here if anyone has questions. I try to help as best I can! There are others who are great at answering questions, too, who have been growing even longer than me...they are always willing to help, too! We all do our best to help each other out with tips, tricks and things we've learned along the way!

Also, if you are fairly new, or just starting out, you can look up and check out any of the previous year's pumpkin growers threads for more pics and info!

Discussion starter · #6 ·
IF I grow this year, I've settled in on CRONUS variety. 25-60 lb should provide the bigger size to sprinkle in with the basketball 12-20 lb I usually buy for the party, and those STEMS!

Ooh, Cronus looks lovely! I like that shape a lot!
I hope your "If" becomes a "For sure"!

Discussion starter · #9 ·
Yay 2023!
@WitchyKitty

Thank you so much for starting the new pumpkin growers thread.
I've been dying to tell you all about something I learned in Pennsylvania last weekend...