Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Open up and say "Aaaaahh"
1,562 Posts
I saw the comments on youtube it says the guy used mini pneumatic rods for the jaws. He does lighting and animated stuff for a living.

·
Registered
683 Posts
Very nice- a real prop? I'm impressed!- I coulda sworn it was an animation as I was looking at the mouth movements it just looked too clean to be machine movements

·
1,562 Posts
From youtube:
Profile:
Name: Bill

I'm a composer, engineer, and animatronic show designer. My company, Mindshaft Music Inc., is where all the magic happens. I write music for TV, film, radio, etc, and create animatronic shows from the ground up. I've created animatronics for haunted houses, a themed dentist office, churches, and more. I also create the BEST custom background sounds, full soundtracks, and audio loops for haunted attractions, dark rides, themed environments, and the like.

Schools: Hard Knocks

Bill, Did you replace any of the hardware in the skills or did you use what came in them? Are you using Brookshire VSA to run the show? I'm going to make something similar using Gemmy skulls but I'm going to mount them on "bodies" and use a servos or something to make them rock back and forth in unison. I may connect them together and use a windshield wiper motor with a weight to make them rock back and forth together.
THEMINDSHAFT (2 weeks ago) Show Hide Marked as spam Reply Yes I replaced the original jaw motors with tiny pneumatic cylinders as I dont think the original setup would last too long. My controll system is based on MIDI so you can use just about any DAW software. The original eye motors are kind of crappy too. Later ones I've done use a servo for the eye movement. Hope this helps,
Bill.

·
Registered
955 Posts
jaw movement?

Wow !

If that is pneumatic, it is incredibly fast.