Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure a ton of people have asked, but I can't seem to find any threads about it here. Anyway, I want to take the plunge into pneumatics. I found an air compressor on eBay. It is a 12V 300 PSI portable air compressor. Also referred to as a tire inflator. I'm sure it has some use in pnuematics, but I'm also sure it has its limitations. Since I'm new to haunting with air (in the process of reading the tutorial on Phantasmechanics) I don't plan on doing much more than simple pop-ups. Also, I can't afford expensive relays and controllers and that sort of stuff. I plan on using scrap material for armatures and frames. Anybody use these comressors before? Should I save my $6? Thanks.

·
Keeper of Spider Hill
1,758 Posts
Do you have a picture of the compressor ? I do not believe that those "tire inflators" have any sort of storage tank or air reserve. I do not believe they are going to provide enough on demand air to do you much good otherwise. Your pop-up will be more of a "creep-up" Personally, I'd save my money and buy something with a tank on it. Even a smaller tank (5 gal) will give you enough reserve air to run basic props with ease. The larger the tank, the less it should have to run as well. This will also depend on what type of props you are running, and how much air each requires. You can never have too much air availible IMO. :)

·
Hauntless
8,371 Posts
Plus, when you have a tank you'll be able to branch out, which I guarantee you'll want to after you see how effective pneumatic props are for your haunt.

I was concerned though for the noise of it running. Well, my problem was easily solved. I found a way to run an airline from the basement to the haunt (in the garage). After making sure I had an outlet that could handle the amps, it was effortless. I could care less how much the compressor ran 'cause I couldn't hear it anyway. :)