Halloween Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first attempt to make a halloween prop using a wiper motor. i've searched for instructions on how to "hard wire" a wiper motor. my wiper motor has 1 connection with 5 metal connections. it has a row of 3, and a row of 2. i'm sure i will have to either break the connector housing, or some other form of way to gain access to the contacts. from what i can gather, there is not a universal connector. I will be using either a 12v 5a power supply or a auto battery charger. which metal contacts do i use? thanks in advance. txmedic1

·
Registered
320 Posts
I'm using a couple of wiper motors for props too. I have 93' Honda wiper motors with different colors than shown on Scary Terry's page. After experimenting, I found that the blue/stripped and green/stripped wires worked best. However, one them stalls and stutters when powered up. It does this without a load and regardless of the power source. The power source is 12v 5a and it powers the other wiper motor that I bought from the same source just fine. Does anyone know why the motor does this?

·
Registered
320 Posts
Thanks for the link. I was hoping for more info on the wiring scheme that I have with stripped colors. But what I'm really interested in is finding out why this wiper motor sometimes works and mostly stutters at other times. I think its just a bad wiper motor???

·
Registered
2,952 Posts
Have you moved the wire around to the different connections to see what each one does? There is almost always a fast, slow and park connection.

They don't go bad very often but it does happen. When I have one that isn't working, I always double check it with a different power supply that I know works. Same thing with a questionable power supply. I will test it on a wiper motor that I know works. But it's sometimes hard (and expensive) to keep a working spare of everything around.

·
Registered
320 Posts