Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

This is my first year in trying animated props. I looked at a lot of videos and forums and decided to try using a wiper motor. Problem is I can't get it to power on at all when connected directly to a power supply.

Here's some info:
Motor: part number REPJ361105 bought from ebay
Power Supply: 12v 5amp - Originally bought to power LED strips if that means anything. Amazon number: B073RDR5CM

Sorry - can't post links since this is my first post.

I tried various wiring combinations using the adapter shown in the image but get nothing. I can confirm that the power supply is at 12v with a multi-meter. Does anyone have any tips on how to connect this? I can't find a datasheet on the motor.

Thanks in advance.

IMG_20180202_124710.jpg

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Also you might need a 10a power supply. Try it on a battery to see if it turns, but make sure the wiring is right.

I have a motor that wont run on a 5a so I put it on a 10a
Forgive my lack of knowledge here but what type of battery are you referring to? Like a car battery?

Thanks

·
Registered
3,764 Posts
Forgive my lack of knowledge here but what type of battery are you referring to? Like a car battery?

Thanks
Yes, a 12V car battery. I would highly suggest using a 10A fuse inline before attempting this since you don't know which wires to connect. A car battery will do instant damage if you connect the wrong wires without a fuse. If you blow the fuse, those connections were incorrect. If the motor runs with the battery, your power adapter doesn't have enough amperage.

·
Registered
681 Posts