Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I’m new at using MP3 players as sound sources for props. I recently used WavePad to mix two .wav files I downloaded from freesound.org. The resulting file plays fine on WavePad and on Windows Media Player.

I then followed the instructions for copying .wav and .mp3 files onto a FAT32-formatted micro-SD card and playing them on a Flyrontech FN-BC04 .mp3/.wav player module I ordered from electronics123.com.

While all other .wav and .mp3 files play fine on the FN-BC04, the one .wav mix file I created using WavePad plays horrible screeches and chirps... as if I’d created a file designed to damage loudspeakers!

Any suggestions for diagnosing and fixing this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,425 Posts
Try using Audacity (it's freeware) to create your new file. What class is your SD card? Some players don't like the cheaper lower class number cards. If Audacity doesn't work, try using a class 10 SD card.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Bingo, David! I checked my WavePad file saving parameters, and the default settings were 44.1 KHz @ 24-bit sample size. I saved a copy of the problem file at 16-bit resolution, and the FN-BC04 now plays it just fine.

The device’s specs say it will handle multiple sample rates. They also say it has a 24-bit DAC output... which made me assume that my mix file should play okay.

The files on the micro-SD card aren’t assigned to the FN-BC04’s input switches as intended, but I’ll try to figure that out later.

Thank you so much for your help!

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Try using Audacity (it's freeware) to create your new file. What class is your SD card? Some players don't like the cheaper lower class number cards. If Audacity doesn't work, try using a class 10 SD card.