Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Psychic or Psychotic?
714 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've finally built my first animated outdoor prop, a Cauldron Creep, but now I'm looking for ideas on how to protect my ATX power supply. Up to now I've been an inside haunter.

I don't want to burn it out or electrocute anyone so I'm looking for some ideas on what type of enclosure others are using.

·
Blaberus craniifer
4,920 Posts
I've been using 4 ATX power supplies for several years now and the only weather protection I've done was to stand the supply on its side on a piece of wood (to keep it off the ground). The I have a piece of cement board about 12" square that I place on top of it. In 5 years I've only burnt out 2 supplies due to rain. My fear of placing them in an enclosed container would the restriction of air flow causing them to over heat and do a thermo shut down or worse, burn out.

·
Registered
910 Posts
I would almost be tempted to go out and buy a small Coleman cooler at a decent low price and then modify it. Cut some holes for cabling etc and maybe even a screened vent from Home Depot to allow air exchange for the PS. The lids on those coolers seem to make a pretty decent tight fit and they are all high impact plastic so no worries about moisture intrusion.......just sayin'

·
BAD INFLUENCE
11,432 Posts
I would agree with slanks, the NEMA enclosures are made to withstand weather, You can get them in metal or fiberglass. Use the correct cord grips ,and you should not have any problems with weather problems. I'm getting ready to build one for a friend for next year and I'm using a fiberglass unit that will have a cooling fan in it also. It will house 3 power supplies, 2 relay boards-16 relays each , and I think a Prop-1 and either 1 ssc-32 or 2 of the Parallax boards and some larger relays for some of the larger props they are using.

·
Registered
151 Posts