Halloween Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Oak Lane Cemetery
2,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got $75 worth of Sears/Kmart gift cards that I'm looking to purchase a projector with to do a ghost projection in our front picture window this year. Looking at this on through the online merchants site - http://www.sears.com/infocus-in2124...p-00342166000P?prdNo=6&blockNo=6&blockType=G6 Seems good, but a quick cross reference search on amazon reveals a huge price difference! Am I missing something in the item I'm looking at? Is there some fine prints I don't see that explains why this projector is so much cheaper that the same model listed on Amazon? I'm suspicious.

Anyways, I've never tried projections before and I'm learning the art of projecting a convincing image from scratch so help me out. I will have a table directly across from the window about 7 ft away that is below the level of the window to set up on so the projector should not be visible from outside unless a very tall person is viewing, or someone goes right up to the window and looks in. How close should the scrim be to the glass to avoid reflections and what material would help in not creating reflections? I'm sure I'll be full of more questions if I move forward with the plan.

· Oak Lane Cemetery
2,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, I can tell you that something is cocoa puffs with that listing. No way they're selling that unit for $76, that's a $500 projector. Take a look at the specs in that listing, it's showing a weight of 2 lbs. and the lumens at 300. The IN2124 probably weighs around 7 lbs. ebay is your best bet for a decent projector on the cheap.
As for your window scrim, I just got done setting one up using a 2000 lumen projector and a $2 white shower curtain liner from WalMart, amazing results. It doesn't matter where the projector is behind the scrim, you can walk right up to the window and the projector beam is totally invisible.