Halloween Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had good luck using “Step Here” prop triggers from Spirit Halloween. I have read here that some of our members don’t use them outside because of the need for them to be on a hard surface to function. There is an easy fix for this. Since I have not seen any tutorial for this as yet on the forum here is my solution for this problem that allows these triggers to be used outside. I have been using the “Step Here” triggers for several years outside with good results. (Sorry I am trying to insert some images here but not having any luck so will go with plan B)

Materials you will need:
1. Black paint
2. Small paint brush
3. Glue gun
4. Glue sticks
5. Rasp or sandpaper
6. Saber saw
7. Small lightweight rug
8. 2’ x 2’ x ½” Plywood (scrap if you have it)
9. Pencil
10. Tape measure
11. Dremmel tool or something similar
12. “Step Here” prop trigger
13. Heat gun (optional for drying the paint faster)

Attachments

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Let's get started. It will take only about 30 - 45 minutes from start to finish including paint drying time if you use the optional heat gun.
First Measure the rug. This will cover the step pad. It can be any shape you want. I chose a round one that I got from Target for $1.

Attachments

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Next mark the dimensions of the rug on the plywood but you want the base to be a little larger than the rug so add at least 1" all around. So if, for instance, the diameter of your rug is 18" you should mark a cut line of 20" diameter. This will be the cut line for the step pad base.

Attachments

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Place the step pad on the base. You will be making a line along the trigger wire from the step pad to he edge of the base and then cut a groove along this line for the trigger wire to lay in.

Attachments

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #6