Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I look at animating more props I'm trying to decide if going pneumatic or electric is better. Here's some background:

• I have none of the pieces needed for pneumatic (compressor, hose, fittings, etc.)
  • I typically use Arduino or Raspberry Pi for controlling
  • I have some experience with servos and solenoid actuators on the electrical side.

I want to do some pop up scares from behind tombstones and maybe do a zombie in a box where he's banging on the walls. solenoids don't offer enough travel so I need to look at actuators.

My questions:

1. Can I run several (let's say 4 different props) off of one compressor? Just controlled by 4 different solenoids?
  2. What PSI should I be looking for in a compressor if i want to try to run a few props at the same time?
  3. I'm worried about the compressor humming noise ruining an otherwise creepy graveyard. Does this happen much?
  4. Can I hide the compressor and run tubing all over the yard, or are there limits to lengths of tubing and their practicality.
  5. In the long run, is one cheaper than the other?

The thing that's getting me to even consider pneumatic is the cost of an electric linear actuator - seems high at like $65 for one piece. Especially when I can get a valve for $8 and a cylinder for $20-- but then there's the upfront cost of a $99 compressor and another $30 in tubes and fittings.

Am I way off base? What else do I need to know? Anyone know of a good guide?

Thanks...

·
Registered
3,764 Posts