Halloween Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am taking a trip to New Orleans next week. This is my first time and my wife and I are looking for some fun/scary things to do. There are tons of things online, but thought I would ask here for any that have experience there. We will be visiting cemetery No. 1 for sure and taking in a tour, just not sure which one. We love things off the beaten path and different. This is also for her 30th birthday.
Anyone have any info/ideas they could share?
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
Looove NOLA! Visited Cem.1 while there and was "lucky" enough to see the maintenance crew prepping for a body switch. As you probably know, the above ground crypts are often temporary resting places until decomposition is complete. Then the remains are swept out and bagged (unceremoniously in Hefty bags) and the cleaned crypt then awaits the next occupant. They usually shoo the public away and cordon off the area during this process- so getting to see that made for a very unique experience.

The guide books warned to be wary of robbers and to always stick to a guide tour. We took the tour- and were glad of the info provided- but didn't think going it alone with a guide book constituted any risk. I think the warning - at least during mid-day- is mostly to keep solo wanderers out.

·
Registered
517 Posts
Exciting!

Hopefully I can help; I'm a freshman at Tulane University in New Orleans from out of state, so I've done a good deal of exploring the city this year. I'll list some ideas of things to do in this post, but let me know if there's anything else I can help with beyond what I mention here!

A note on directions: