Halloween Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all.

First I would like to say GREAT SITE and keep up the good work.

I have been running my props with washing machine solenoids , powered with RS x10 system. So when I hit the on/off on the main switch, eveything happens pretty fast.

Now Im getting into using 24vdc solenoid 4 ways. The problem Im having is the cylinder takes a good of 4 secs to reset. Looks like power still running thru the transformer after I press off. Is there a way to fix this?
Im new to using these and dont know all the tricks. Sorry if im being vauge in my description.

Thanks to all.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Just a guess, but it sounds like your solenoids don't draw much current, and there are capacitors in the wall wart that hold the solenoids open until they drain. You could either find a way to interrupt the 24V line, or maybe connect a heavy resistor like this one across the output of the transformer. Just be aware that the longer you have the prop triggered the hotter the resistor will get.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. Now the how to if you have the time. Would this resistor be installed inside the transformer? Ill do some looking on the net for the answer also.

Thanks

·
Registered
522 Posts
What cylinders are you using? Are they double acting or single acting?

This may not be an electrical problem at all -

If they are single acting, then you may just need to add a bungee or spring to cause the return of the cylinder to happen faster.

If they are double acting and you are using them as single acting cylinders (Driving a single port), you probably have a bleeder valve on the that just needs to be opened up some.

If they are double acting and you are driving both ports on the cylinder, then you are back to it being an electrical problem, double check that the valves are AC or DC and that they match your wall wart.

·
Registered
227 Posts