Halloween Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at a window projection. While waiting for my projector to arrive, I'm considering my screen options.

The most popular material for window projections is the white shower curtain liner. Unfortunately, I have a streetlight across from me that lights up the shower curtain.

I was wondering if the grey mesh fabric folks are using for scrim would work for a rear projection window display.

What do you think?

·
Registered
629 Posts
I just finished building a rear projection screen for my crypt doorway. I tried several different materials but all the fabrics and even a commercial rear projection material showed a nasty hot spot from the projector which has to be directly behind the screen. The shower curtain completely hid the hotspot but, like you, I found it very visible under any ambient light. The solution I came up with was to stretch a thin black spandex like material over the front of the shower curtain. This kept the hot spot hiding of the shower curtain and made the front of the screen black. The only issue I've had is the brightness setting of the projector needed to be bumped up a little and the image was a little more diffuse than I'd like but it looks fine from the distance people will be viewing it from.

Reactions: 6-paq

·
Registered
3,527 Posts
I would stick with the cheap WHITE shower curtain. The street light probably won't be a problem once your projector is going. The down side to grey mesh (or any mesh) is seeing the projector beam through it. If your window is on the second floor this usually isn't a problem, 1st floor can be an issue.

·
Registered
476 Posts