Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may or may not happen for Halloween 2020, but I figure I should start doing the research anyway. I have zero experience in animating props, but I know given some plan, I could probably do it. Anyway, I had this idea of doing a huge spider on my roof and then have a man hanging from the front of the roof/house all wrapped up in some kind of spider webbing and the man wiggling around as though he were trying to escape. What would be extra cool would be to time it so that the wiggling would maybe happen for a couple minutes but then be still for 5-10 minutes. With all of that said, I don't see me putting a body together as being to much of an issue, but I am not sure where to begin as far as how to achieve this effect, any linkage, what would be required, etc. Any help, would be greatly appreciated. I have been doing a lot of looking on here, but I am not finding anything yet. Thank you.

·
Typical Ghoul Next Door
6,826 Posts
I am just useless if I tried to build things from scratch that require movement, so I cheat. I get things from other people, or I repurpose already "plug and play" type of props.

For what you're describing on movement, I'd suggest looking for the Haunted Shrub type of prop.

^I've found these for $5 or less at thrift stores, but likely could order them and see how well they work. If you do a super lightweight (cheesecloth wrapped around batting with some cheap bagged spider web) and then suspended the contraption inside it, that might do what you'd like. My shakers all make growling sounds but I think that might be nifty. I think they are sound activated, so they'd need to be nearby activity (people walking by/talking/other noise) to go off.

The do make an actual victim/body that does exactly what you're describing as well (at least, it sounds like it's supposed to do what you want it to do):