Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first discussion thread but I’ve been a student and watching and learning for a while. I adopted the Nightmare Before Christmas theme this year and ran it from October 1 until New Years, with Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years modifications as appropriate. I will expand this theme over the next few years, but I really want to include fake snow on some of my props. Problem is that I want it to be removable so it is only there for Christmas and New Years. Essentially I need a custom fit cap to go on things like Zero’s dog house and some fencing. My initial thought is to use plastic wrap to cover my pieces then spray expanding foam. Later carve, shape and color it. But I don’t know how to make it secure so it won’t blow off during our Southern California Santa Ana wind events. Any thoughts and ideas are encouraged. Thanks in advance!

this is the look I’m going for, but removable and reusable. F97FD254-DDC2-4A78-98E8-5B2E03BD3926.jpeg

·
Typical Ghoul Next Door
7,471 Posts
Probably for a home haunter without access to vacuforming (which would be the great, but really complex to do for multiple props) the easiest/cheapest way to make some snow drift toppers that will form/fit and easily remove would be using carvable foam insulation (the pink or blue stuff). You can cut it, carve it, sand it easily. The trick is going to be fitting it to existing objects and your artistic ability to shape it to look like what you need. LOTS of fine grit sandpaper and making sure you're in a well ventilated workspace (outside is a good idea) and would recommend wearing stuff you don't mind getting COVERED with fine dust and wear a mask to avoid breathing in tiny particles.