Halloween Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! On good old Marketplace, I was able to buy two 60" poseable skeletons for a combined $10. Couldn't pass that up! They're the good ones too. Anyhow! Got me to thinking about All Hallows Eve this year. I've always done spiders, as it's what I hate, and wanted to share the fear. But after a few years, thought to be kind and do my partner-in-crime's fear. Snakes. I actually had to go on facebook and ask what it is about snakes people fear, because I grew up playing in the woods and while they can startle me, I drive out of the way to not hit one even in the road. So snakes!
I've never done snakes before, but saw one image of a skeleton being squeezed by a skeleton. Large snake obviously. I'd have to find an (haha) easy way of rotting out the skeleton a little. But thought it might be fun to hang 'shed' snakeskins in the trees, and also along the path through the haunted trail.
I've looked around, but didn't find much on 'How to'. I was wondering if anyone has ever created a fake snakeskin before, and possible ways? The only thing I could come up with, would be in purchasing 1 or 2 rubber snakes, and coating them in either liquid latex or Elmer's glue. Let dry, then slit down the middle to easily peel. But I've never done this, so thought I'd ask here on thoughts.
And if anyone has any ideas of snakes just in general, please feel free to share. I'm also looking at making an animitronic pit of snake tails. Or even just one here and there along the path. But it's all just in my head before planning anything as of yet.
Thank you so much for any help, and sorry for the lengthy post. I'm not kidding when I say I pretty much do nothing but sit at home all day/night, every day. So when I get to talking, it goes on.:x

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the video. Just started watching it, but he had me at.... I'm way too lazy for that.:D

·