Halloween Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a skull I'm working on and I'm going to try to mass produce them. My current dilemma is which direction to go.

What I have is a thin plastic skull that I glued a magnet into and it sits flat against my door. Ok. it looks neat... for an amateur, but I'm a seasoned pro. I want to make it look like it had spiked thru the door. So I'm thinking of sculpting a large spike and making it look like it was pounded thru the top of the skull into the door. The purpose of the spike is secretly to hide a small LED, that would shine a thin light down onto the skull making it visible from the street, and make it look a lot scarier to would be trick-or-treaters.

ok.. so far.. so good. Skull, spiked thru a door. It's think and very light weight, it has self illumination. Could be used on any metallic surface, such as a front door (mine is metal), or a fridge, or an office filing cabinet...

Ok, now I ask you.. should I add a small piece in the back so it could be hung on a hook for a wooden door?

Should I make something hanging out of it's mouth (it has no lower jaw by the way) for example, a snake coming up thru the mouth and out thru the eye perhaps?

Once I make one, I'm going to approach Spirit and see if they want to by it from me, in which case I would then have them mass produced. I'll be sure to offer then thru here as well. :)

Look forward to some good feedback. :)

·
Going bump in the night..
3,388 Posts
Just a thought on mounting - I'd recommend a keyhole type of opening in the back to hang this from a nail or screw (assuming the back is flat - otherwise, some form of small bracket in the back if the back is open).

Reason being: most people are not going to have a metal door or surface for mounting.
I can see this being hung on walls as well, especially in home-haunts where the walls are made of foam / cardboard / wood / other non-ferrous materials...