Halloween Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there are a ton of talented mask makers on here, and I need your help PLEASE!!! :) This is my first time ever doing silicone so I'm not familiar with the stuff but am using it because this year, rather than doing a creature, I'd like to do a celebrity mask instead. I've already started sculpting onto my life cast but am not sure whether I should keep it a full one- piece mask, or break it up into two parts (nose, cheekbones, and forehead as one piece... and lower lip and chin as the other.) I know silicone's movement is pretty realistic but I want as realistic as possible when wearer is talking, so that there can be a full range of emotion shown in the mouth. But at the same time, I don't want any visible seams and I don't have an air brusher to help conceal them, so I'm not sure what kind of makeup I'd even use with silicone or on top of silicone once the pieces are applied to the face?! If the edges don't come out thin enough, is there a way to fix them or shave them down? And lastly, what kind of silicone or silicone mixture should I buy when I'm ready to pour? What has worked well for you? :) I've heard of people using a WIDE range of things, but am looking for the most skin-realistic silicone, preferably something that's not going to break the bank. Halloween is right around the corner and I'm reeeeally hoping to finish this in time!!! Thanks so much in advance and I hope ya'll have a Happy Halloween! :D

·
Monster Collector
3,385 Posts
If you're making a silicone mask do it as a one piece. If you're sculpting on a lifecast it should fit you perfectly and since the silicone will basically stick to your face you will get range of movement. Forehead, eyebrows, cheeks, etc.