Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure this is covered somewhere on the forum, but my search didn't throw up the specific result I was looking for.

I have just received 2 Scary Terry talking skulls (my first EVER attempt at anything involving servos and/or computers... TOTAL NEWBIE!).

I have seen 'Push-ejects' fantastic tutorial on Youtube about using a hidden tone to activate the jaw motion..

...however, he says to use a 14kHz tone. I find that that is extremely audible to (my) human ear.. in fact to the point where it is quite uncomfortable (admittedly, my hearing is supposedly excellent as I am a pilot and it's part of my medical requirements). I have used a 16.5kHz sine-wave tone in audacity, but even with that, I find there is still a very audible 'click' from the speakers as the tone is generated. Any advice on that?

Also, I want to have the two skulls 'speaking' different parts of the same song or audio piece. When I select export to MP3, it says it will merge the seperate audio 'tone' track with the stereo. Does that not mean that both skulls will react at the same time to the same audio tone? How can I get around that problem?

Forgive me if I'm asking stupid questions.. but that's just about my level!

Whilst typing this post, I am developing some ideas, but won't get a chance to try them until next week.

Any advice from you experts would be so gladly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
138 Posts
There are several ways you can use the Scary Terry boards. You described one - using an extra channel (via audacity) to set tones that supposedly aren't heard by the human ear. I agree with you...there's a distinct tone that is audible although it shouldn't be. To me...it's a humm...no matter how high I set it.