Halloween Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,388 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Argh!
I'm so p*ssed off! My mom called me today to tell me they tore down my Grandad's old shed two days ago and filled in the cold cellar too. I'm enfuriated. My Nan is having a hard time with it, because my grandad passed away four years ago. She wants to move into a "golden living" home before she has to spend another winter in the house alone.
My uncle gets the house and the land, because my grandad was a traditionalist and have it to his only son. The bee that is in my bonnet though is that my poor nan isn't even out of the house yet and they are makin plans to tear it down (and have already started worth the shed/cellar).

My grandfather was a self taught carpenter and built the shed, greenhouse, barn and house himself with the help of my great grandad. It kills me to know that my uncle, who grandad gave the house to in good faith, is now just taking advantage of the free plot of land to slap up some modern quickly made summer home for himself. Grandad passed the HOUSE on to my uncle to make sure it stayed in the family and now he's just going to tear it down. And the reason? Because it's "quicker" to have a new house built by a contractor than to pay someone to do the restorations. So, he's cheap and lazy but more than happy to take advantage of the free property. (Which is, I would easily say, the best plot of land in the community)

I'm furious and just wish people would people would have a little more honour and respect for the past and for their family traditions and history. But instead they opt to tear it all down for the convenience of modern.

Sorry for the rant, but I figured lovers of Halloween would understand my wish for tradition and history to be honoured. Thanks for allowing me to let the steam out!

·
Far Away Eyes
3,354 Posts