Halloween Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I have to say I have zero knowledge of electronics at all. But I've read through a lot of pages on hacking Boris and I think I can do it. Maybe. I bought a cheap MP3 player to use as my audio source. Do I absolutely have to use a capacitor ( this is the newer Boris) or can I just skip it? Will it really do anything to the MP3 player? It would be much easier if I didn't have to use one.

·
Funeral Crasher
7,435 Posts
If you just want to hook it to your MP3 player, just cut the micro-bone off, take the two wires and solder on a mono mini plug. I did this to my first one and it worked fine.

·
Registered
574 Posts
The capacitor is to filter electrical power coming FROM Boris to your audio equipment. Boris sends voltage down the wires to power the original microphone.

I'd suggest installing it, but many people have not installed it and not had problems. It's dependent upon your audio source.

Craig

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Help please

Ok, now this Boris thing is really driving me crazy. I bought one newer Boris that I hooked up without a capacitor. It went well and I liked it so much, I bought another one, but this time,the older Boris. The older one sounds so much worse than the newer one - lots of static. I tried it with and without the capacitor thinking it might make a difference - it didn't. I have a track with voices separated on both channels. The newer one works great and only moves its mouth when it is supposed to. The older one moves its mouth to the correct channel but also a little to the other channel. What am I doing wrong or is the old Boris so much worse than the newer one?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #7