Halloween Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the process of attempting to making a cauldron creep and I'm look for advise on the motors... Almost all previous tutorials link to motors that are no longer available thru allelectronics.com and the wiper motors from monsterguts.com are back ordered until 9/23! Has anyone used the wiper motors from frightprops.com? If so, can you comment on quality - specifically operating noise?

Do you have any alternate recommendations for motors for a cauldron creep?

Last question, I'm picking up one of madmax's motors - this is an ideal motor for the head movement on this prop, correct?

Sorry, I'm new to animated prop building and looking for suggestions / opinions :eek:

·
Funeral Crasher
7,435 Posts
Well, 9/23 is not THAT far away if that's your only motor source. You might try E-bay for a wiper motor or something similar.

Yes, I would say the motor MadMax is selling would work fine for the head movement. I use those same motors and they work great!

·
Registered
378 Posts
The two speed motor on Fright props looks like the typical ones sold by monster guts. I have used both sites and they have great products and helpful staff. I just made another order from Fright props. I would not hesitate to use them.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the suggestions and input... After discussing with our fleet mechanic at work he returned to my office about 15 mins later with a used wiper motor from a 2004 E250 cargo van! I think this will work!!! Although I'm unsure how to properly wire this thing... I have an old (never used) new power supply from my computer when I upgraded my GPU; I think I've ready somewhere that you can wire these things with that?

Any help with wiring, or suggestions on where to look? I'm sure a basic google search would provide decent results but figured I'd ask you folks first since you know the specific needs...

·
Registered
142 Posts