Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.
This is my first year using projectors. I picked up the Home Depot (atmosfear kit) projector and I have 2 more higher end projectors arriving today.
I was looking at downloading some of the Atmosfear scenes for my upgraded projectors. I noticed the downloaded versions were more expensive than the DVDs because I believe they are higher resolution. I saw another post where someone commented that unless you have a VERY high end projector ($1000+) that you won't notice the resolution difference. Is that true?

If I decide to go the DVD route, I believe I would have to drag the scenes from the DVD onto a USB stick. (I don't want to drag out my laptop/DVD player).
How do you get the scenes to loop on a USB stick?

thanks!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Hi

For the most part the resolution thing is correct. I notice the dif on movies and home theaters, but not the pumpkins for example.

If you buy the DVD's from Atmos, they would need to be ripped since they are protected. They would also need to be in a format that a player of your choice would need to support. A media player that many swear by, and that I use is called the Miccaspeck G2. You can get it on Amazon for about 40 bucks. You can plug a USB,or SD card into it and loop videos. I used it for my pumpkins.

·
Registered
368 Posts
I think all of the Halloween projection effects are pretty forgiving with lower resolution. There is some good detail on the Atmosfear ones but I assume your viewers are also looking at it from a distance. In short, I think any projector that at least puts out DVD resolution 720x480 will do the job. When it comes to Halloween projection effects I think brightness (rated in lumens, foot lambert or lux) is more critical than resolution.