Halloween Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this halloween I plan on running three projectors around the house. Two will be projecting onto the windows of the house while the other will be having a go at projecting images onto a suitable scrim in the garden(yard). I just wondered the best way to supply the image to the projectors, I didn't really want to have to source and hook up three seperate laptops or dvd players. Is there some other (cheap) way that you guys achieve this? I'm not very tech savvy

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
668 Posts
You will need to have a source for each projector. Be it usb (if the projector can play from a usb drive), DVD player, or laptop. The only way to play on three separate projectors from one source would be computer with three video ports, opening a video player program for each projector. The cables to run to all the projectors would cost far more (depending on distance) than buying three cheap DVD players. If you can specify which projector you have, it may help to determine what the best solution is.

·
Disney Inspired
849 Posts
This is a great question. One that I have struggled with too. Wouldn't a video splitter only allow the same video to play on two sources? I have been looking at using a Raspberry Pi with each of my projectors simply because they are small.

Or, one could use a video splitter, which takes one input and provides multiple outs.

·
Registered
330 Posts
Yes. It would only allow the same video to be output to however many devices. A cheap composite splitter could sent a signal ~200 feet. If multiple, independent videos are required, of course, multiple sources (or one computer playing back multiple videos) is required. Just wasn't sure from original post whether that was a requirement or not. In hindsight, it probably is.

·
Registered
324 Posts