Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! I've been away for the forum for awhile and its really nice to be back and looking at everyone's fantastic work. I hope everyone had a great Halloween 2013!

For 2014 i want to start a completely new segment in my haunt. Projection Animation! I have never done anything like this before. My concern is how it is done? I'm confused with how its set up in a window or if i can make it project that its almost in my cemetery. I'm going with restless spirit for my first projection. This is created by Spectral Illusions and costs $20.00 which is reasonable compared to some other ones i see. I figure ill buy a less expensive animation to play around with.

Another quick note is supplies. Do i need a special type of projector? I would like one that produces the animation in good quality and clean detail. Also ive been reading upon different types of screens and scrims and plexi glass for different effects. I think i just need some clarity and advice from some projection gurus out there:)
Thanks guys an ghouls
-Chirs

·
Registered
13,781 Posts
Ctarpey, welcome back to the fold. Here's some info on rear projections from what we used.

We did a Mark Gervais' Hallowindow rear projection the first year Hallowindow came out in 2008 using a borrowed projector from work. Bought a cheap white shower curtain from Walmart to use in our upper bedroom window. This year we did the same thing but with Dminor's Rona ghost maid ($10--very nice too) for our haunted hotel (She was a perfect fit). You can simply tape the shower curtain to your window edges inside, trying to pull the wrinkles out. The first year we did a 3-window area and created a frame to attach the shower curtain to; this year we only used the middle window and used blue painters tape to tape the edges to the walls around the window--quick and simple for one-night.