Halloween Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi-
I'm new to the site and need help. I posted in the new member forum but thought I would ask for help here, too. I am a police officer and we are doing a haunted house to make money for our Christmas "Cops for Kids" program.
Its in an old middle school and we have volunteered for decorating a room.
My room ( 2nd shift room) is going to be an asylum. Its a rather large room so we have a decent amount of space to work with.
You guys seem pretty experienced from reading your forums - Any awesome ideas you would care to share with me. We are pretty fired up about it and want it to scare the devil out of people! And also, be the best room, you know, and feed our already oversized egos
I appreciate any tips
Thanks !

·
Registered
725 Posts
I got a super scary one. Imagine this: I walk into a well lit room, and there you guys are, all standing around in your uniforms. :D

Ok for real now. I havn't done an asylum, so I don't know to many specific details for you. Except straight jackets, people in white coats, operating table (with straps), and bloody hand prints.

But one thing I can not stress enough is lighting. Make sure you have it. If you stick to just the standard florescent lights in the room, your affect will be lost. Use lights to bring out focal points of your room. Pick up red, green, blue spot lights, whatever you think will work. If you have access to all, its highly recommended to try different colors.

You can even use string lights of the same colors. In that case though you want to do your best to hide them. They make a great glow affect, but if visible they can ruin the mood. Makes you think more about happy fun, lets decorate for christmas.