Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I gotta ask and no offense to anyone what is the big deal with pirates not necessarily of the carribean but in general. In my opinion and just my opinion they arent scary and have nothing to do with Halloween. (Johnny Depp) I have always found pirates to be more comedic than scary except in one film which was the fog with jaime lee curtis. This is just a curiosity post and all im wondering is what the big obsession is (Johnny Depp)

·
Mad Scientist at Large
656 Posts
Well, I'm no expert, but the real life of pirates and the Hollywood version of pirates are two different things. The Hollywood version is that of swashbuckling, drinking and buried treasure. It is a very romanticized image. It's just high adventure, and people like that.
Real pirate life was not so glamorous. Disease constantly threatened the pirate, and treasure consisted of more than gold: silk, spice and other less glamorous goods were just as coveted by the pirate as gold was. If Hollywood made accurate pirate movies, I think the infatuation with the pirate life would be much, much less.
But, like I said, I'm no expert. Just a theory to your question.

·
kakos
7,217 Posts
I noticed how you snuck in Johnny Depp's name a few times, so my question is are you wondering also what the obsession with him is as well?

I think a big obsession with pirates is also the rebellion part, they don't follow rules made by society.

M

·
0 Posts
People have been fascinated by pirates LONG BEFORE (Johnny Depp) for a lot of reasons, many of which have already been mentioned in this thread. Rebellion, riches, romance, freedom, the mystique of the 'good bad guy' (similar to the fascination with the Mafia), and so on. Beyond that, you may as well ask the question for any interest: What's the obsession with Cowboys? Plumbing? Tractors?