Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Bête noire
2,631 Posts
Yep, that's the one I use. I also use an ECA (white) bulb alongside the blue. The F/X box can handle 500 watts so you can double up on the bulbs. Don't be worried about the 3 hour life that is advertised for these bulbs - I've been using one pair for 3 years now. Each lightning flash is only a few secs, so they'll last a long time. They run hot so keep 'em dry.

·
Registered
85 Posts
I ordered the fx box, blue and white photo bulbs. Went to Home Depot found those clamp light fixtures. The eight inch ones can only handle 150 watts you have to go up to 10 1/2 inches to handle 300 watt bulbs, but they are twice as much and twice as heavy. Can the smaller one handle it since it will only be for lightning effect and not continuous lighting.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Yep, that's the one I use. I also use an ECA (white) bulb alongside the blue. The F/X box can handle 500 watts so you can double up on the bulbs. Don't be worried about the 3 hour life that is advertised for these bulbs - I've been using one pair for 3 years now. Each lightning flash is only a few secs, so they'll last a long time. They run hot so keep 'em dry.
So that pushes the FX to the max 500 watt .....no blown fuses, as this is what I'm using this yr...(2) 250 watt bulbs 1 blue 1 white

·
Registered
57 Posts
Well I found them locally and it's cheaper as all of the online stores charge $5 or more to ship which is the cost of one bulb at my local store.

Also...using the Xmas FX light controller...no one had any issues using (2) 250 watt bulbs...as this pushes it to the max 500 watt...?

...and I have the small clamp lights from Home Depot but it only handles 75 watts...dunno if that will work, so prob gonna have to go w\ two others that I have rated for 120 watts...what do ya think?

·
Registered
629 Posts