Halloween Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! I have been hosting a Halloween bash for the last 6 years. But it seems the last couple years I've noticed that the guests come for an hour or two, then leave by 11 or so. My question is, when you plan a party, do you also plan little things to do with your guests? They use to come just to SEE my house all decorated and they stayed a few hours. Now, they expect the house to be awesome, they eat and drink, then they move on to the next place.

I would like to plan some things for my guests so they aren't bored and will stay a little longer. But I don't want little kiddy games.

Could you please help me come up with some really cool ideas to entertain my guests? Thank you SOOo much!

·
Registered
312 Posts
This year we're renting DDR (dance dance revolution - an arcade game where you try to match the beats with different steps) from a carnival supply place - I expect much hillarity.

Last year we had a shot luge.

Bon fire keeps people around, especially if it's a nice night.

Adult games - a lot of people talk about "tempt your fate" games on here - see the other threads. I've never tried it.

Set your costume contest for later in the evening? If people want to win, they'll wait around - that's what bars do to keep people buying drinks.

I find good food, drink, & conversation is usually the main focus.

·
Registered
174 Posts
Last year we did the Tempt Your Fate game, that was fun. We had a fire pit outside, hot mulled cider and ghost stories. Karaoke in the den. We had nice prizes for the Costume Contest, we did that around 11pm and did a Midnight Monster drawing for a really nice prize. The theme of the party was Monster Bash, decor was classic movie monsters and scenes. I did some retro invites which included tickets they had to bring with them for the Midnight drawing. So, that's how I got people to stay around. That and jello shots.

·
Shadow Crosser
741 Posts