Halloween Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering taking advantage of all the free pallets in the area in spring. I was debating on taking a few of them to create 2 large gothic columns as a idea. What would you all do with access to a lot of them? Looking for easy options.

·
Registered
438 Posts
I use pallets for two things:

1- Toe pinchers coffins. They're heavy...requiring a handtruck to move them around...but they look great and I don't have to age them much (I'm a better carpenter than painter). I don't usually use the 2x3 or 2x4 boards that hold the pallets together, since it's usually oak and 3X as heavy as regular Home Depot pine 2x4's. Of course, sometimes they make a good base for something that you don't want to blow over. Last year, I ripped several in half (making 2x2's) and used them to build a sturdy table to put my heavy toe pincher coffin on.

2- Boarded windows. I layed two pallet boards end to end, then overlapped their ends by 5" or so & screwed them together. I made two of these to be used as vertical pieces and put them parallel to each other 30" apart. I arranged several single pallet boards between these in random boarded-window fashion and screwed it all together. Everything is screwed from the back, so you don't see the screws. Pull the old rusty nails from the pallets, cut their heads off leaving 1/2" of nail shaft & nails these randomly on the front. Put an eye hook on the back of each of the two vertical pieces at the top. These eyes slip over drywall screws that I ran into the top of the exterior windows. I measured carefully so everything was exactly 30" on all pieces, so I can interchange the sections on different windows each year.

If you want pics of any of this, let me know.

·
Registered
517 Posts
The Nightmarefamily, suggested something that shouldn't be missed, " I recomend sawing the planks off ".