Halloween Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! At my haunt I try to have one way for people to go. I have been doing this for a few years. But last year litteally everyone went the wrong way. I even went to maske a sign that says come up left and exit the right. Does anyone have any advice on how to enforce this. Thanks!

·
Registered
7 Posts
We learned years ago from getting in line at amusement parks that most people (being right handed) automatically go right. That's why the left line is often shorter. If it is feasible to flip your layout so that the right side is the entrance, that could help. If the doorways are close together, you could also add stands & ropes to direct those exiting off to the side and the folks entering will usually take the more direct route. Of course a few big arrows on the ground out of blacklight reactive tape or something may also do the trick. Good Luck.

·
Registered
48 Posts
My haunt is also one way. My entrance and exit are clearly labeled and I have someone at the entrance. For years where I had one door in and out the path was marked with huge yellow/glow in the dark arrows. Make sure your path is obvious and if people are required to move something to proceed that something should be very obvious. Since I am the single haunt creator in my family I have the most brutal critic I can find (my wife) walk through and tell what needs to be improved. Alas with all those precautions you're still going to get a few people who can't read or don't listen to directions.

·
Registered
498 Posts
If it is closed off at all make those ripped strips out of black plastic or curtains for the exit so its not as obvious a way to get in. Signs other materials of an entrance have to be almost in face so they get it not to high or low as much as possible, and some still wont get it.