Halloween Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is my first year I’m really able to set something up for Halloween. I’m usually working on Halloween night :( Last year I corpsed a skeleton and had some strobes up and some severed heads, but this year I’m going for actual props.
Anywho, I thought I would post some of my newbie moves as I go along. Thought maybe others just starting out would appreciate it and the vets may find it humorous. :)

Today, I took a bold move and started to make my PVC candles. I figured how tough can it be. Expandable foam and PVC. Geezzzz..

I cut my PVC in varied lengths with no issues. Next I opened the can of Great Stuff and noticed the warning on the top of the can to wear gloves and eye protection. Bahhhhhh whatever I thought and began filling the PVC. It came out of the can much faster than I thought it would and frankly kinda scared me. On my fourth or so candle the nozzle that connects to the can was off kilter and began spraying out the sides as I filled. I would even say it exploded a couple times sending great stuff onto my forearms. I pushed on though cuz heck; I’m practically a tough guy… LOL, MISTAKE !!! My hands were very sticky, and great stuff was stuck all over in the hair of my arms. Ohh no, I felt like the little kid on The Christmas Story when he shoots his BB gun and it breaks his glasses and is scared his mom will find out. I thought my wife can’t see this.. LOL

By the time I began to wash the foam off my arms, it was too late. So I read the can. (I know, a little late for that now) acetone will remove the stickiness but anything else has to be mechanically removed or wait for it to dissipate over time.
In the end, the acetone took away the stickiness on my hands and arms, but I do have some bare spots where hair once was. Sure glad wifey doesn’t have an account here. Let’s keep it a secret between you and me. :)