Halloween Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK guys I am a newbie here at propbuilding but have a lot of plans for my next year haunt and am trying to start early, though I need help with some basic concepts and ideas as the topics of controllers, valves and solenoids get’s confusing, or for me anyway. To start with I will build a MIB with the rocking motion with the cylinders at the bottom and have 2 pneumatic cylinders at the bottom firing down, I have figured out the basic concepts of design and construction but need more specifics and will try and ask my questions in order.

1. What type cylinders are recommended as for size and stroke and would single action ones not work OK thus making for an easier design, something in the area of 1 ½” bore and 3” stroke about right?

2. On to manifolds, I am assuming I need a manifold block that has one air input and an output for each line into the solenoid for the cylinder or could I just go straight into one multi output solenoid which leads to question 3 below?

3. Regarding solenoids, if I were running 2 cylinders each with 2 air lines attached (if using DA cylinders) it would need to have one input for the main air and 4 switched outputs?

4. If 3 is true what solenoids are recommended, and do they have 4 wires coming from them that activate which valves open?

5. If I added another cylinder to open the lid and it were a DA cylinder then I would need a solenoid with 6 outputs, is this correct?

6. Now on to controllers to run all of this, I already purchased the EFX-TEK Prop 1 controller, and if I understand correctly this will control 7 different outputs via DC out, and if I needed AC then I would have to use a relay. So in the case above if I used 6 outputs on 3 cylinders I would then have one left for fog, lights or sound? Also will this controller work OK or is there something better that may be less expensive and/or easier to use?