Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to making custom props and am wondering just how much I should expect to spend for simple pop-up props, like trash can trauma or some other pop-up props complete with sound and lights. Is $100 per prop about right? Is arduino the way to go?

Also, for air cylinders, do diy pvc cylinders hold up over time or are they a hazard waiting to blow up? (Specifically, for the trash can trauma.)

Also, about how much time do you spend making each prop?

·
Registered
79 Posts
Homemade DIY air cylinders are real sketchy, I agree with J-Man on that -- First of all, you're not really saving money or time when you consider your effort and energy to reinvent and solve problems in making the cylinder that is many times better than you can make and they are safer too. I recommend investing in a pneumatic kit that has all the fittings, tubes, and control solenoids that will take out the stress of purchasing decisions so you can focus on building your prop. Later on you can repurpose the parts to make other props when you want to move on to doing new things. You can look at several of the popular Halloween stores, I went with Halloween FX props they are nice people, I emailed then to customize a kit for me. In fact this year I purchased another cylinder for my Zombie animatronic and repurposed the cylinders for a pop up prop that I want to make do something else. BTW I use a low voltage 12V solenoid controllers and easily interface it to an Arduino.

·
Registered
79 Posts
I really like building stuff myself, but I'll be taking your, and J-Man's, advice... no homemade cylinders.