Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year throwing a party. I am expecting ~25 people. I was only going to do sweets but then decided we might need something to balance that out. The party starts at 7:30pm so I don't need to provide dinner. The guests are mostly mid-20s and there will be lots of drinking.

Here is what I have planned:
Sweets
Eyeball cupcakes
Icy Stares - Frosted Molasses Cookies (with eyeballs drawn on with food markers)
Monster Brains - (rice crispy treats with green coloring)
Witch’s Finger Cookies
Cut-out Cookies (Halloween shapes of course)

Other
Cheese Cubes with spider toothpicks
Chips & salsa
BeDeviled Eggs (Deviled eggs with green coloring)

I was also considering mini quiches and finger sandwiches cut with tombstone shaped cookie cutters.

Here are my questions... How much food do you think I need? Is my menu enough variety? Any other suggestions?

·
Registered
155 Posts
i recommend making mini cupcakes, in my experience, nobody touches the full sized ones.

an easy savory hors d'eourve is taking some white bread, cutting shapes out with a cookie cutter and spreading with a little butter, toast in oven (crispy dry). you can make the toasts ahead of time. top with a little sour cream and caviar. i did these last year and they went over really well.

how much food you need is really hit or miss. the first year i made tons and nobody touched it. the second year i made a much smaller amount and i was constantly refilling.

I do try to make as many savory dishes as sweet. so maybe add two more savory. maybe a vegetable and dip platter and something a little heavier (deli meat platter, meatballs etc).

Have fun!

·
Registered
1,344 Posts
Good advise Gennifyr. :)