Halloween Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this is a silly question but couldn't find an answer using search. I'm a first time builder of a couple of Lindberg pirate skulls and want to put some light up eyes in them. The eyes will just be stationary - right now I'm not doing any servo motion of the eyes so I want to keep it simple. The effect I'm going for is this:

YouTube - Hacked Gemmy Skull Sings a Tune

I'll put leds in the eyes to light them up. However the ping pong balls I got are a bit too big for the eye sockets. I think they are 40mm, which I guess is a standard ping pong ball diameter. But my question is what do you recommend for a cheap hollow plastic sphere for the skull eyes?

·
Scared Silly
1,931 Posts
If you find a ball of any color that is the proper size (or even form one out of modeling clay), you can make a simple plaster mold of half of it, fill it with hot glue, and light that up. Works like a charm.
If you need the whole eyeball, simply glue 2 halves together.

·
The Evil Apparitionist
555 Posts
You can use the "ball" part of roll-on anti perspirant. They are the right size and are kind of translucent which diffuses the light very well.

Yeah, what he said. Get some cheap roll-on deoderant balls that are 1 inch in diameter (25mm). They fit the Lindberg eye sockets well as they are normal human size. You can drill out the back 1/4 inch to accommodate 5mm leds easily.

Good Tutorial here: Haunters Hangout Easy Eyes

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Deodorant - what a great idea... I'll have to give it a try... For eyes I mean... ;) :p

Great link for creating the eyes. Also the glue eye I hadn't thought of either. Thanks for the good suggestions. I'll keep you posted on my progress.

·
Zombie Hunter
20,479 Posts