Halloween Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this year I am building a very large prop out of 1 inch pvc to make into a pumpkin skeleton momma.

My issue is I am not very good with physics. In my head, the plan is clearer than in reality 馃檮. I haven't even begun the paper mache ribs or attached the pumpkin head yet and I already have a weight distribution issue. She is too top heavy.
Please help before I add weight and really mess it up. Some of the lower joints are already siliconed in place. I may need to stand her upright but I was excited to have a crouched twisted position.

Registered
Would probably add a steel plate/stand something with some weight on it and extend it in the back as she is leaning pretty forward of her feet. You can always cover the plate up with something. Or another possibility is at the feet use a T and extend the feet both ways maybe if possible even a bit bigger pvc pipe for more weight and fill it with cement or sand.

Registered
Prop Building
That T-Joint at the hips won't take the weight you are going to be adding to it, either the glue or the joint will snap, or if it manages to hold, your vertical pipe will bend over time with the weight of the upper torso.

Without knowledge or access to welder, and without welding a sub-frame for the prop you are going to run into weight issues as you build it out. My suggestion which would be a quicker fix, is buy a length of rebar that will go from roughly the collarbone to the ground. You can put a fitting on the skeleton that the Rebar will just slot into, and then you poke the bar into the ground in your yard about 4" deep and then position the prop onto of it. Paint the bar black and it should not be too noticable. If you re planning this an an indoor installation, putting a piece of plywood from in front of the lower rebar junction on the ground to the back feet would support it well while giving it a bunch of added stability.