Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! So thought I'd share my lastest project. I made a pair of gravediggers, one for my yard and one for my friend. The bodies are PVC and wood, bubble wrap and such, and the heads are cast in latex from a mold I did of a sculpt I made. It's my very first attempt at sculpting, and I'm pretty happy with how they've come out. They're not perfect by any means, but I like 'em. :) Oh, and they will have realistic eyes put in as soon as I get the ones I ordered online, and I still need to age the shovel.

·
Reaper Queen
8,628 Posts
VERY cool, Mariah, great first time skulpting! I like the gloves idea, I have made hands for my gravedigger but haven't been totally happy with them, what is inside them to hold the shape? and how do you have them attached to the woodbase, , assuming their legs are pvc too?

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Bethene and Ms Meeple. Yep, first time sculpting. I was so inspired and excited by PlayFX "old coot" sculpting tutorial, I just had to give it a go!

His hands are the hot glue hands with wire in them, ala the "How to Haunt Your House" book.

The legs are actually 2X4's, and his feet are 1x3's. I just slipped a cut to size piece of 1X3 into his shoes, then put big ol' screws through the foot into the wood base. It's a pretty sturdy set up, I think.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ya know, I don't.:eek: I have this bad habit...once I get started on a project, I just steamroll ahead, and neglect everything til it's done! And that often includes picture taking. I need to practice slowing down...but I seem to work best when at a frantic pace! hehe

·
Registered
13,901 Posts
Hey, those brothers look like some neighbors down the street! Great job, especially on a first out effort. I'll look forward to seeing them completed. Any estimate on how much time you've put into the sculpting and assembling parts?

·
Ghouls Rule