Halloween Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been creeping around these forums as a guest for several years now without actually becoming a member until recently. Living in an apartment I did not have the space to make or display props the way that I wanted to. So fast forward, I finally have a great home with lots of space to work and display and as a bonus there are hundreds of ToT in the neighborhood.:D
This is my first attempt at a prop build. I do have some woodworking and electric experience along with most basic tools I would need. However it sure would be nice to have a miter saw a drill press and a compressor, but I digress. One thing at a time.

So I decided to start with a toe pincher coffin because it seemed simple enough and It has such a great look to it. I also had plenty of wood laying around from other house projects. I started with some 1/2" plywood and some slats from and old privacy fence I tore down. I built the base with plywood and planned on building the rest out of the old slat wood, however I really could not get my lid to fit together just right, it did not feel sturdy enough. So I ended up just making it out of plywood and then just attaching the old wood to that. It made the lid fairly heavy, but I think it will be ok.
I'm not quite sure how I'm going to finish this project off just yet. I love the leering skeletons I see around the forums, or maybe some version of a monster in the box or popping skeleton. I'm still looking for inspiration on that. So many great and creative ideas here its hard to decide what to do. For now I think I'm just going to do a little staining and sanding to get the look just right. I think this will end up being my main project for this year, but time will tell. I really want to build a nice LED light set up as well so I guess that's my "other" main project for the year..;)