Halloween Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Can anyone tell me if this motor would be a good choice for an FCG rig? I know the RPMs are good, but I'm not sure about what other variables I need to consider (how to hook it up to AC power, does the gear need to be a certain type, etc).

I'm new to this stuff, so please assume I'm a complete moron when explaining. :) Thanks in advance.

·
Technological Terror
724 Posts
Probably would be a good choice, but you will want to know the torque of the motor before using it. I would suggest going to:

Halloween Prop Building Supplies For The Home Haunter - Monster Guts

They have two motors that are cheaper and work great for a FCG rig.

I used their replacement dayton gear motor for mine, and it works great. Check them out before you buy the other motor.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hm, I think Monsterguts' motor is $50 + shipping. This one is $20 shipped. Are you talking about the wiper motors? I thought I needed a fully rotating motor for FCG.

The MG one definitely looks heavier duty with a more solid connection point.

But if you don't see any obvious issues, I'll go ahead and try the ebay one out. If it doesn't work, I have 30 days to return it and I'm just out return shipping.

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
668 Posts
I have an old rotisserie motor, it's from the 70's I think. Would that be a good one to use? It still works fine.

·
Registered
393 Posts
I thought I needed a fully rotating motor for FCG.
All wiper motors are continuous 360 degrees of rotation. The back and forth action you see on your windshield wiper blades is created by using a crank arm linkage. But the motor is continuously turning in the same direction the whole time.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have an old rotisserie motor, it's from the 70's I think. Would that be a good one to use? It still works fine.