Halloween Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time using monster mud so I decided to just start with tombstones. They seamed easy enough. I was given some free styrofoam from my work and I decided to use that just to see if I would even be able to do it. Plus I looked around online and saw that a lot of people still used the styrofoam too. I am talking about the white bubble type foam that you get from craft stores in squares and balls. I was able to carve some basic designs in them just fine. The MM even went on fine with out problems but now that it has dried it is flacking off when I grab it.

Is there something I can add on the styrofoam before I put the mud on? or is there something I am doing wrong? I used a mix of 3 parts joint compound and 1 part acrylic paint.

·
Lord of the Cemetery
2,081 Posts
Hi Kylie.. I believe most of our USA based haunters use a couple of coats of a substance called "Drylok" to coat their stones before painting to seal the foam.
(I'm in England and it isn't available here under that name). I usually use a couple coats of a PVA glue/water mix which seems to work ok, or possibly a coat or two of flat grey primer before applying your monster mud will give it something to grip on to.
sorry I'm not able to be more helpful, but there are some great tombstone tutorials on the forum...Try checking out Terra's work for some really great tips and inspirational ideas with tombstoning.

·
The Mrs. to a MysterE
2,337 Posts
Hallow Kylie!