Halloween Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, this year I want to start making my own tombstones. I figured I could make it out of some nice green foam from the flower section, it's easy to mold. However, other foams like the pink/blue foam are cheaper, I heard they are harder to mold without the right tools. I want to try plain white styrofoam like the stuff that comes in big boxes when you buy computers and tvs and such. I think it's cheap but i'm new at this. I came to the forums for advice and to ask what I could use to smooth coat these foams where sandpaper and files cant be or have already been used, so it's not too rough. Thanks everyone :)

·
Registered
648 Posts
Most of us here use the 2" or 1" high density foam from Home Depot. It is very easy to carve with great detail. Everyone here uses a Dremel tool to carve out letters and design after you draw it on the foam. Most people use some type of dryvit. Do a search for Monster Mud here. It is a recipe that makes a durable concrete looking finish. I usually finish by air brushing different layers of gray, brown, and black paint then finish off with exterior varnish.
stone2.jpg
Also, look at Terra's videos on how to make stones. Very good. She is on here.

·
Hauntless
8,332 Posts
What's awesome about making foam tombstones is that they let the creativity fly. There isn't a set way or materials to use. In fact, when people go out of the norm and try new materials and/or techniques we love the additional ways :) For example, I got goofy one day and thought - why don't I try using Drylok as the protection paint for the stone. WALLA! Not only did it waterproof the stone, it came in gray already and as a bonus it has sand-like particles and after you drybrush it looks EXACTLY like stone.

Here's a video showing a full build using my preferred foam (pink/blue):

·
Oak Lane Cemetery
1,915 Posts