Halloween Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! Thx fer readin my first post here. Glad I found this place.

I have been struggling with getting the right lighting effect on the outside of my house for a couple seasons now. As an electrician, my neighbors have just come to expect that I will do most of my effects with lights... My house is always illuminated, year round with spotlites. So for halloween I wanted a castle effect. My first thoughts were purple. But blacklights arent strong enough when used outside... unless I coated the whole house in clothing detergent... lol. So I settled on the cheapy floodlights, in blue. The blue worked fantastic for my graveyard scene... very eerie. But upon inspection of the actual house, the blue backround with orange flicker flame bulbs in my light fixtures just makes me look like an extremist bears fan. It is so freakin blue.

My question amidst my babbling is... is there anything I can put over my flood lights that with deepen the blue or turn it purple. I was thinking red fabric but it just seems dangerous. Any ideas? On a budget?

·
Undead Handyman
556 Posts
Could you build a box around your floodlamps with a slide out lense at the end? That way you could change your colors as your haunt evolves. My local plastics store sells scrap plastic dirt cheap and as long as you vent the boxes and keep the hot bulbs away from the lense it shouldn't become a fire hazzard. Im experimenting with UV LED floodlamps this year, but at $35 each I wouldn't put them in the "budget" category.;)

·
Registered
5 Posts