Halloween Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all! So, I'll be ready soon to make a 2 part plaster mold from an oil clay bust I've been working on...but I'm kinda nervous about it, since I've never done it before. Anybody have any tips, advice, suggestions, experience they'd like to share?

·
Scared Silly
1,931 Posts
I just finished one today. Take a look at http://www.halloweenforum.com/halloween-props/76862-3-axis-frankenstein-5.html
What kind of plaster were you thinking of? My understanding is that UltraCal-30 is much better for moldmaking than plaster of paris.
Take your time with the mold walls. Don't skimp on the clay there, an make sure it's firmly attached. I had a minor catastrophe when the mold wall split off from around the ear. It's nothing I can't fix, but it could have been easily avoided.
the first two layers should be applied carefully, and thinly, with a brush. Continually blow on the wet plaster to break any air bubbles.
Pick up Lee Baygan's Three Dimensional Makeup book. It has lots of good information on moldmaking. He doesn't do any two-parters, but it really helps to see step by step.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Hi, I would reccomend Mark Alfrey's Standard Molds and Castings dvd.

I ruined my first oil clay sculpt because i didnt quite know what i was doing.

His dvd is a bit pricy but gets into all the detail stuff. I will be molding a wed clay mask sculpt next week myself and it has aready helped me out with alot of things i wasnt aware of.

·
Registered
508 Posts
I too would like to know. For me, I need a plaster positive, so I can vacuum form later. So I'll need to make a mold in order to make a plaster positive out of it.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the tips! I may have to invest in that dvd....I hate to part with $35, but I'd hate to ruin my sculpt even more.

Scourge, I'd like my final piece to be latex with a foam core.

·
Registered
76 Posts