Halloween Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to create a display that uses light / sound to create the singing pumpkin display I have seen around. However I want to control more than 8 different objects simultaneosly. 16 would probably be plenty. I have seen people talk about the K74 which I have looked at but it is limited from what I can tell. Also seen stuff about DMX which I've never heard of before.

So, can anybody help lead me in the right direction. I have a pc available to do all the stuff with just need help with figuring out all the relay type stuff as I'm new to this.

I will be using speakers hooked up to pc to for sound (probably several different sound tracks) that I will sync up to lighting of different props for singing effect.

Thanks in advance for any help / advise.

·
Registered
233 Posts
well it all depends on what you want. Do you want to spend the money now and have the ability to expand in the future of do you want to go the cheaper route now and have it cost more in the end? You have a lot of options and need to figure out a budget first. I am taking the dive into a laptop controlled system and believe me its like opening Pandoras wallet! I will be into it well over $1500 to do what you want including cables software ssr relays controllers pressure pads and of coerce the almighty dmxercist! If your ready to take the plunge, I can help you with your options :D

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, I'm looking to start out small just the light display synced to music. I would like to be able to reuse for xmas as well which is why the 16 relays. I have looked at light-o-rama but it is just too pricy for me. The K74 looked nice but I cannot chain it and I would like a usb solution just so I don't have to keep an old clunker of a pc up and running. This is what lead me to DMX still looking at this but I am unfamiliar with it.