Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I've been doing this for four years now and luckily no one has gotten hurt, but I got a chainsaw for this year(took the chain off of course) and it got me thinking...what would happen if someone got hurt while on your property, or got hurt while you were chasing them a little bit. Anyone know if we are protected, because nowadays they can sue, and the sky is the limit

·
Registered
327 Posts
If a criminal cuts through your yard trying to escape the police after robbing a house and murdering the occupants and twists his ankle in a mole hole on your property, the bastard can sue you, and will probably win if they have a savvy lawyer.

Generally, using the "McDonald's" style disclaimer is considered a good start (Warning, dumbass, this coffee is HOT!)...you know, a rules sign stating the inherent hazards of entering your yard on this particular night and that anyone who does, assumes full responsibility for the risks associated with it.

But other than that, as long as you are not deliberately creating a hazardous atmosphere to ensure injury, your home insurance should cover people getting injured while on your property...but it won't stop them from suing you.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, this year I was planning on having some sort of warning signs about 100 feet from my property..."something to the effect of a warning and enter at your own risk and Im not liable"

But in reality, would that be withstanding in a case....I guess, could you have people sign a waiver for them and their kids would be the the only real way, but we can't necessarily stop everyone and have them sign..

So hopefully some sort of sign

·
Seer of All
2,939 Posts