Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone! I am new to halloweenforum as I am new to the whole haunt world! I have always loved halloween and this year I have finally decided to put together my first yard haunt :D ! I am extremely excited but I am faced with the challenge of choosing a theme. I don't want to a cemetery theme as I have put together small graveyards in my front yard before. I was thinking dark carnival/circus, creepy bayou or an overgrown harvest/salem/witch theme! I am open to any advice/suggestions and am wondering from you more experienced haunters what you think a relatively easy and cheap theme would be for me to start with (either from my 3 I mentioned or your own experience). thanks! :)

·
Human Candy Shovel
1,107 Posts
You're new to the art, so think small. Don't go for a showcase covering the entire yard, go with a spotlight on a single scene.

I'd go with the creepy bayou, because you can get a crapload of scene dressing for effort instead of money. Vines are invasive species most places. Many states have volunteer programs to eradicate them, so you can volunteer to tear out vines and bring them home. Just put up some PVC pipe for posts with rope running along the tops and throw the vines over the rope so the dangle and form a short semi-enclosed corridor. Throw in some skulls, a few spiders, witch lanterns, warning signs, maybe a creepy overgrown skeleton or scarecrow and you've got the makings of an impressive haunt scene for your first year.

And did you know you can coil vine like rope and store it in a cool dry place for several years of reuse? Then the next year you can improve the scene by adding some pressure triggers under a layer of fallen leaves, and hook the triggers up to things like talking skulls or some other sort of noise making device. Meanwhile make the corridor longer with more vine collected over the course of the year.