Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know I am new at the whole Halloween thing, and not trying to sound like a cheap skate!!! But the prices on most of the stuff out there is out of this world. Example: a upside down hanging vampire (which I thought was cool) made of foam ranged on websites from 1,400.00 to 2,250.00. Can they have more 100.00 invested in this product including shipping????

I don't normally complain but there was more than this one item I reviewed. So is it just me or do others feel this way?

·
Registered
955 Posts
Why this forum exists.

I like you find the cost of props extreme.

This forum is full of individuals who are making a concerted effort to create very good props for reasonable costs.

Obviously not everyone is capable of making props from scratch.

Hopefully efforts made by various individuals will allow some kit processes to reduce costs.

·
Typical Ghoul Next Door
7,448 Posts
For that much $$, you must be looking at a professional level haunt prop.

Check around on this board to get some ideas of more reasonable priced props for home haunters - like Fright Props, Spirit and Halloween Express. They'll all have the pricey professional stuff, but there is a fair bit of less expensive stuff too.

However, there are plenty of tutorials also that explain how to build pneumatic and electronic props that would be just as good as the professional level, you just have to either know that sort of thing, or be able to teach yourself how to build them (or settle for less dynamic if you're mechanically all-thumbs like me :D )

As cool as the fancy professional props are, however, it is much cooler to build something yourself - since no one else will make the prop like you will, and it will be a unique creation. It is addictive... just look around at the amazing things the forum posters have made!

·
Hauntless
8,374 Posts