Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do much more lurking than posting as I don't have too much to offer as I'm very new to the haunting scene.
Thank you to everyone that has shared great tips & tricks. I've learned a lot.

I picked up a couple of packages of curtains from IKEA that are on sale for $3.99. Each package has 2 panels. Each panel is 98" x 110". (roughly 8' x 9') They are shear, very similar to tule fabric. They are white, but I'm going to attempt to dye one set black and the second set will be "aged" with tea/coffee.

They could also used to make ghosts.

http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/90111980/

·
Registered
14,269 Posts
That's a nice price for such a large span of fabric. Great idea for anyone needing a tall ghost figure. We use to live closer to an Ikea than we do now so I,kind of forget about them. Just the other day I saw someone post something about maybe tealights there. I'll have to give them a look.

I will say I have to wonder about dying polyester though. I know you wouldn't have a problem with a cotton sheer but not sure about a nylon. Double check the dye package for suitable fabrics before trying. The only time I seem to recall affecting polyester is staining a favorite polyester-based top with a salad dressing oil. That kind of stain never seems to come out for me! But I'm not a laundry expert by any sense.

Hey, Welcome to the Lighter Darkside by the way. Nice you came out of lurking. It's always nice to see a new name on discussion threads...even if its just to comment, make a suggestion or ask a question. All part of sharing. Do you decorate outside, inside or both? Hope to see you around the forum.

·
Moonlighter
2,593 Posts