Halloween Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just beginning my adventures in creating my own Halloween props and learning the basics of paper mache. I was wondering if anyone has found an order for layering different materials they like a lot. I want something very sturdy that can take a little abuse. I've been experimenting with newspaper, cheesecloth, shop towels. Input?

·
Registered
113 Posts
Well, I use a 50/50 school glue to water ratio, and newsprint. About 4 layers. Then two coats of polyurethane. image.jpg Works great for me! Jack skellingtonsa head is made like that in this photo. Wore it most of the night and hit my headpiece on a few doorways. The drywall doorways didn't do a thing to it. Not a scratch!

·
Registered
113 Posts
Thanks! It was my first go with mâché (as an adult) it took a long time, most of it spent waiting for drying!! So.... Maybe multiple projects at the same time. I was doing this and making a few columns simultaneously. Made the wait not seem so bad between coats!

·
Somewhat Eccentric
2,271 Posts
I mainly use newspaper with anywhere from 4-10 layers depending on the size of the project. The larger the project, the more layers I use. When I'm looking for extra strength (especially on a large piece) I usually do the final two layers in brown paper either from paper bags or packing paper in a roll. I found that a single layer of paper towels provide more strength than a single layer of newsprint and will also conform easier to any detail you're trying to preserve.